Netflix has made changes to its Facebook recommendation feature by allowing users to selectively suggest content to friends, rather than sharing everything they watch with their entire network.
Starting Tuesday, after they finish watching a movie or show, users will be asked if they want to share it with a friend and add a private message. That person will receive the note the next time they log into their Netflix account. Users who haven’t connected their account with Facebook will receive a private message via Facebook Messenger.
The move reflects Netflix’s desire to make its content social, and entrench the service into subscribers’ everyday lives. By making the Facebook plugin more private, the product development team believes users are more likely to connect on social media, according to an interview with The Associated Press.